Skip to content

Morin, Redmond, and More Videos

July 14, 2009

Prospect camp wraps up on Wednesday but it’s going to take a few more days for everything I’ve collected to make it on the site, especially with the schedule coming out on Wednesday and something else in the works for the end of the week (it’s not a player signing or trade).

If you weren’t at camp yesterday or today you can get a taste of what it’s been like with these videos:

Earlier in camp I talked to both Jeremy Morin and Zach Redmond. Here is what each of them had to say.

F Jeremy Morin
6-0, 195 lbs.
2nd rd, 45th overall 2009

Jeremy Morin is a pure goal scorer who had 33 goals and 59 points in 55 games with the US National Training and Development Program last season. He’ll head to the Kitchener Rangers of the OHL in September where he’ll have two years of junior eligibility before likely going pro. He was a member of the World Champion Under-18 USA National Team this year and will be a serious contender for a spot on the American World Junior Championship squad at Christmas. Drafted nine spots after Carl Klingberg in the draft, he was featured in this draft day video which you’ve hopefully seen by now.Morin grew up outside of Syracuse and has known Zach Bogosian since the two of them played youth hockey together in Syracuse as kids.

Q: What have you been doing since you got home from the draft?

I got back and hung out with all of my friends and family. They all congratulated me and then I got back to doing what I’ve been doing all summer- working out and enjoying the summer.

Q: Have you had a chance to hang out with Zach yet since being drafted?

No, I haven’t seen Zach yet. He lives about two hours away so I haven’t had a chance to see him. Maybe before the end of the summer though.

Q: What do you think of camp so far?

It’s fun. It’s exciting to get down to Atlanta and take it all in. I’ve never been this far south so it’s something new. It’s good to be back on the ice too, getting a good workout in during mid-summer. It’s been a hard camp but it’s fun.

Q: Have you talked to the team staff about what they want you to work on?

Not yet, but I know what I have to work on. I’m not the best skater so I can always get stronger when it comes to skating and I’ve just tried to work on that over the years.

Q: I was talking to Dan Marr (the Thrashers director of player development and amateur scouting) and he said you had the best vertical jump of anyone in camp at 37 inches. That’s pretty impressive. Is it something you’ve worked on or is it just natural ability?

Yeah, I got pretty close to 37. They don’t all believe me so I think they might make me do it again. I don’t know how it happened. I’ve just always been a really good jumper. I must have had some adrenaline going during the test though because that was my highest ever.

Q: Can you dunk a basketball?

I can. With a good run I can throw it down.

Q: What have you taken away form camp so far?

Obviously it’s pretty tough. It takes a lot of work to be a pro athlete. There are a lot of guys here that are going to be competing for the same spots so you have to take it seriously and make sure you train harder for the next guy.

Q: Is it hard to avoid thinking about how you stack up to guys that got drafted a few years ago?

You have to respect the guys that are further ahead in their development. You can’t compare yourself to them. You just have to look at where you are, take what you can from the camp and try to enjoy all of it.

D Zach Redmond
6-1, 190 lbs
7th rd, 184th overall, 2008
Ferris State University

A sophomore at Ferris State and a Traverse City Michigan resident, Redmond put up six goals an d19 points as a freshman and three goals and 24 points as a sophomore this past season. With just four percent body fat, he’s the leanest prospect in camp. He’s an offensively minded defenseman with above average skating skills.

Q: How did your season go at Ferris State?

The team, we started out pretty well and the last seven games of the regular season we just shut down and went 0-7. It was a very disappointing end of the season for us. Personally, I thought I had a better year than last year. I worked on some things and I thought I improved a lot. Obviously when the team doesn’t do as well everyone’s numbers suffer, so we all took a hit there when we struggled at the end of the year, but we’re all looking forward to next year.

Q: What’s your favorite thing about life as a college hockey player?

I can’t speak for all college hockey players, but our team is so close-knit. Everybody seems to love each other and just going to the rink is fun every day, and then guys have classes together. It’s a bit of a grind sometimes but I think it’s worth it at the end of the day. You get to play hockey and you get your degree at the end of the day. I just got into sports marketing so it should be good.

Q: What have you been up to this summer?

During the summer I’m just training and figuring out ways to make money. Working out is priority number one though.

Q: How is the money-making going? Have you come up with any good schemes?

Ebay has been good to me. I’ve been selling old hockey gear- sticks, gear, anything that can be sold is getting sold. That’s my main source of money. I’m doing some hockey camps too. I just did one in Chicago and I’ve got a couple coming up at home in Traverse City. The one in Chicago was the Nike Bauer hockey camp. One of the ones in Traverse City is with Dallas Drake and the other one is with a skating coach.

Q: How does this year’s camp compare to last year’s?

It’s not a whole lot different. The second time you come in you’re more comfortable and you know more guys, but it’s been pretty much the same otherwise. I even have the same roommate- Mike Forney. It’s been a good camp so far though.

One Comment
  1. Smoothie permalink
    July 15, 2009 12:14 pm

    Ben, kudos to you on a great write-up featuring Kane and Mr. Macho-check! Sounds like these two kids could really help each other if they are both lucky enough to find themselves on the Opening Day roster. I would not be surprised if Spence cracked the line-up as the 3rd line LW to start with Kane breathing down his neck for the first month of the season…I totally expect Kane to get his 9-game tryout in Oct / Nov before going back to Van.

Comments are closed.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

