Skip to content

Bogosian Blog Entry #2- Away From The Rink

December 15, 2008

Here is Zach Bogosian’s latest blog entry. This time he talks more about what he’s been doing away form the rink. It was written a few days ago, before he got back to skating with the team today:

It probably isn’t a surprise that being hurt gives you a lot of free time. Here’s what I’ve been doing while I’ve been out of commission.

First I went and got a new car. I’m really into cars so I knew exactly what I wanted to get. It’s something I’ve dreamed about getting, probably since I was 12, and it’s always been my favorite car- a brand new Cadillac Escalade. Being able to actually buy one was a really big deal for me because I’ve wanted one for so long.

I got some nice rims on it and I just put in an all-new sound system. I’m going the whole nine yards since this is my dream car. I might as well, right?

Now that I have some wheels and can drive myself around I’m a regular attender of Atlanta Hawks games. I’ve hardly missed a game since I got hurt. I’d never been to an NBA game before so the first one was a really different experience for me. It’s been really cool to learn more about them and see them in action. So far I haven’t’ had a chance to really talk to any of them. I see them walking around the arena and I’ll say “Hi, good game” or something, but I haven’t really had any conversations with them. I’m not sure they know who I am. I just use their treadmill, and my time with it doesn’t overlap with theirs. It’s a good thing too, because all of those guys are a little bit bigger than me. We don’t need to be getting in any fights over the treadmill.

Like I said, I’m into cars, so it’s always cool when I’m at the arena at the same time as them to take my time going through the parking lot and check out their cars. They have some really nice wheels. Someone out there has a Rolls Royce- I’m not sure whose it is..

I haven’t been to any movies lately. I’m kind of a guy that watches movies at home. I watched The Illusionist at home for the first time finally and it was pretty good. Jessica Biel is in it and I’ll watch pretty much anything that she’s in. She’s probably my favorite movie star. I have HBO On Demand, so I’ve been watching a lot of that. I’m usually not a TV guy but that’s changed with all my time off. I’ve really gotten into Entourage. Those guys are all hockey fans too, and whenever you find out someone’s a hockey fan you want to watch their stuff and show them some support. You see NHL gear on the show every now and then and that’s cool.

I’m also trying to learn how to cook. Being 18 and on my own that’s kind of an adventure, but I’m having a lot of fun with it. You try something and mess it up a few times and then you just adjust it until it works. I make really good French fries, but they’re healthy, not greasy. I cook them all the time. I try to act cool and be a chef. If you want to try out my fries this is how you make them:

First you go buy some red potatoes. any kind will work I guess but I like the red ones. If you’re a guy like me that likes to eat a lot, get seven or eight of them out. Wash them and then slice them all up- slice them any way you want depending on how you like them, but I like mine nice and thin.

Once you cut them up soak them in olive oil for a little while. Then while they’re still in the oil throw some garlic salt on them. I use a lot- I love garlic. Then throw them on the pan and add some more garlic salt. A lot of it ends up stuck in the bottom of the bowl so make sure you add more once the fries are on the pan. Then you put the salt and pepper on top. I always do the salt first- I don’t know why and it probably doesn’t matter. Once they’re all ready to go you preheat the oven to 400 and leave them in there for half an hour or so. Just keep an eye on them and take them out when they look ready, depending how crispy you like them.

That’s my favorite recipe so far- it’s simple but it’s good. My mom was here for a week and she was showing me how to cook a lot of stuff, like different ways to cook chicken in a pan or in the oven. She makes great rice pilaf. Nobody can make it like she does. She left me everything to make it but I don’t think it’ll turn out nearly as good as hers. I like to cook steak too so I’ve been doing different things with that.

I have my own place now so it’s kind of cool to be on my own for the first time and it worked out great when my mom came. I have two bedrooms and two bathrooms with a living room and kitchen. It’s the perfect size for me so now I’m just getting it all set up.

Hopefully by the next time I do one of these I’ll be back practicing with the team. If there’s anything you want me to write about let me know.


I will say this- I tried Zach’s French fry recipe and it’s good. Really good. Maybe he’ll get into the restaurant business like John Anderson did during his playing days.

Comments are closed.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

